Pscarlet Psolus-es

We had better weather today.  Patchy fog and predicted wind from the south and southwest pointed us north.  The videographers wanted Folly Cove for at least one of the dives.  So be it.

The tide was rising to a high at about noon.  This was going to make the bottom colder and clearer than the top.  The Captain decided on the deep end of Folly’s wall.  I anchored in about 40 feet.  Sure enough, it was 46 on the bottom and 50 on the surface and in the shallows.

We had Jacki K., Andy from Worcester, Vincent and Paul S. of the Frogs, Jim Castelli, and Bill Low on board.  Pat and Pete were crew while I pointed the boat.  Everyone was in quickly, so I decided to go too.  I wore my little steel tank that weighs more than my steel 70.  That, plus my Fenzy, caused me to be heavier than I usually am when I’m videoing.  There was some dragging along the bottom at 40 feet.  Visibility down there was about 15 feet.

The Captain had asked for a shot with the wall on the right, the sand and sand dollars filling the frame to midpoint, and a diver entering and leaving the scene.  Right-o!

Meanwhile, Paul had found a large, red, cooperative scarlet psolus.  It’s fun to watch them feeding by sucking their tentacles, one by one.

There was chili to help us warm up between dives, because the second one was just across the cove, beside the house that used to have a rooster.  It crowed all day long and we marveled that the neighbors put up with it.  I guess the new owners aren’t into farm animals, because we haven’t heard him in several years.

I got in again and found it to be better visibility on the bottom.  On the surface it was about 10 feet.  I saw mussels clustered on a rocky surface with barnacles interspersed.  Their white wafting tentacles were easy to spot.  No decorator crabs at all up here.  I wonder why.

Paul reported more psolus (psoluses? psolusi?) were hiding out at 40 feet on this side of the cove too.  There were skates and flounder and tiny seastars on transparent ribbons of kelp.  You could see their little, white, sucker feet through the khaki-colored kelp frond.

Thanks to Andy for the Polish donuts (say PONCH-kee).  I got the last one.

Good day.  Nice people.

Leave a Reply

