Windless and 88 Degrees

It got hot on Memorial Day.

We had Bill Low with Pete, Pat, The Captain and me on board.

The south side of the cape was still bouncy and roiled up, so we went north to get calm water.

The Restaurant at Folly Cove is the Lobster Pool.  I anchored just off their front yard in about 25 feet of water.  As we were suiting up, a family with a little boy came to the edge of the granite wall to watch.  It seemed they might be living in the yellow house on the pier.  They were friendly and the little guy watched intently.

Peter went to check the anchor and Bill Low swam over to the wall on the bottom.  They were watching his bubbles and I commented that the wall is a beautiful dive site.  The younger of the two adults said he had seen it himself and agreed.  What a nice surprise.  No hostility.  No rude gestures.  Must have been tourists :^)

I used the rest of one of my tanks for the dive.  1000 lbs was enough to determine the deeper water was murky, cold and dark.  I swam inshore from the downline and moved along the edge of the wall to warmer water with 15 feet of visibility.  There were nudibranchs and tiny shrimp everywhere.  Here’s a picture from the internet of what I saw:

Nudibranch

I saw a nudibranch that looked like this one.

I would have thought that warmer weather would have driven them deeper.  They’re usually gone by this time.

Our second dive was across the cove at the outer edge of Folly Cove.  This was a deeper anchorage at about 40 feet.  Again, going down the line, I was attacked at the thermocline by an ice cream headache.  Peter and Bill said it was 45 degrees down there.  I swam across to the rocks and practiced videoing to get the hand of it again.  Upon reviewing the footage later, I learned that the winter has caused my rock steadiness to leave as well as my memory of not shooting into the sun.

I used 2/3rds of my tank and felt my fingers getting cold.  Time to head back.

The ride to the marina was a hot one.  Not a breath of air was moving.  Wingaersheek Beach was packed and there were even lots of brave souls in the water (up to their calves).  No Hampton Beach vacationers there, Veronica.

Wingaersheek Beach

Wingaersheek Beach next to the channel, Coffin's Beach further north

We had a Memorial Day feast, thanks to Pat Walsh, cooking by Pete.  Bill even got a charred hot dog that was to his liking.

Great time.

Good people.

Fun, fun, fun.

One Response to “Windless and 88 Degrees”

  1. "V" Says:

    Those nudibranch look like the kind I saw in new Zealand!
    You had a good day for day.
    Newburyport was hot hot hot!

Leave a Reply

