Finally – Good Visibility

But at a price: 45 degree water.

I felt the ice cream headache as I descended the down line.  The medium-sized hood should have helped keep me warm.  Maybe it did.  But the part that was exposed to the ocean – my brow area – was shreaking, “COLD ALERT.”  After a few moments, the area got numb and I forgot about it in the excitement of being in the midst of a school of pollack.

This was happening at one of our favorite dive sites off the cemetery in Lanesville.  We’d anchored a little north of where we usually go because a fisherman was in the way.  It turned out to be a good decision because we were over the end of the mountain range that trims that coast underwater.  It was 38 feet to the chasm that housed the best visibility of the season: 20 feet or so.

We had LD, Peter, Pat and me on board.  Of course, The Captain was in charge.

After delaying the departure for heavy duty cleaning and sanitary engineering work, the sun was higher that it usually is for our trip up the river.  That could have meant it was hot, but it wasn’t.  Warmer that yesterday, sure, but definitely not hot.  Again the wind was from the east.  This is an ocean breeze for sure.

Anchoring was easy because the rocky bottom holds well.

Pete tried another of his newly acquired alternate DUI dry suits and it didn’t leak.  That’s the first time in three weekends that he’s emerged from the dive dry.  A milestone for sure.  He found a large yellow cod and was th-i-i-s-s close to catching in his lobster bag when it bolted for freedom.  It could have looked like this:

A Picture from the Internet of a Yellow Cod's Face

I used the video to do some set up shots and was encircled by the pollack on the last one.  I only had 1000 lbs in my little bomb of a tank, so I didn’t go on any long treks and there they were.  Right under the boat.  I was struck by their beauty as I looked up from 40 feet and they circled above me while I held my breath.  When I exhaled, they split formation and surged for cover.  When I stopped making those terrifying bubbles, they reformed their loose ball.  It was wonderfully real and totally consuming to watch them surge above me.

The gauge read 200 lbs too soon.  I wasn’t even really cold yet.

Oh well,  there’s always next weekend.

Good time with good friends.

Leave a Reply

