Torpedo Ray Day

Oh, yes.  We had quite an adventure today.

Surfers were having a field day at Good Harbor beach as we drove around the cape this AM.  With Linsley and Kevin Mordasky and Linda and Kerry Hurd, we were headed north to avoid the surge and waves of Hurricane Leslie who was passing by over 600 miles out to sea.  The wind was picking up from the south as we rounded the top of the cape.  Two other dive boats were already anchored at Lanesville and The Restaurant, so I chose the deep part of the outer wall at Folly Cove.

As Linsley and Kevin got suited in their wetsuits, I decided to transition to my newly replaced zippered Atlan drysuit.  I’m very glad I did because the anchor was in 42 feet of water and it was 50 degrees on the bottom.

It wasn’t very good visibility at about 10-15 feet and dead low tide, but I could see the shape of Kerry’s camera on the sand in front of me.  I’d followed the trench the anchor had dug as it dragged in the stiff south breeze and was exploring the huge boulders in front of me.  What was Kerry’s camera doing on the sand all by its lonesome?  A-h-h-h.  He was doing a set-up shot with something.  Something big.  It was a torpedo ray and he was getting in the shot to give some perspective to how big it was.  Pete later said it was the biggest one he’d ever seen.  I stole a frame from the video I was shooting to show you:

Kerry and Ray

Kerry and Ray

We decided to make both dives here because Kerry had been longing to see and video another torpedo ray and some dogfish.  He got 1/2 his wish anyway.

I switched tanks and went back in with a steel 72 for more footage.  We circled it and got up close and personal with it, but it never moved and we didn’t touch it.

I got cold and decided I’d gotten all I could as the cold incoming tide cleared up the visibility a little bit.

Back on board, we all agreed that the excitement never ends.  Kerry had seen only three torpedo rays in his life and two were this year.

The wind was much stronger as we rounded Folly Point for home.  Daybreaker and the big Cape Ann Divers boat were going by in the other direction with their afternoon charters.  I was especially glad that we only go out once a day.  My heart couldn’t stand much more excitement than it did today.

Great day with fine folk.

2 Responses to “Torpedo Ray Day”

  1. Veronica Says:

    Wow! i wonder if that torpedo ray was the same one I seen a few weeks ago over by Kettle (!?) It was enormous! Folly was probably a good choice to anchor. Waves at Salibury were HUGE!

  2. Veronica Says:

    Wow! i wonder if that torpedo ray was the same one I seen a few weeks ago over by Kettle (!?) It was enormous! Folly was probably a good choice to anchor. Waves at Salisbury beach were HUGE!

Leave a Reply

