Kettle and Egg

It was supposed to rain at 2 PM today so we had better get going.  No wait.  That was the forecast for today from yesterday.  Wait, wait.  No rain today according to Weatherspark.com.  Hoo boy.  Maybe we should just go diving and forget who says what.

So we did.

We had Alan Hicks, Dennis and his buddy, Bob, along with Pete and Veronica as crew.  The Captain organized us all.  I drove the boat.

Although it had looked reasonably good on our drive around this AM, the back shore had crashing waves as we rounded Eastern Point light and the breakwater.  Hum.  Time for Plan B.  I swung around and headed west towards Kettle Island.

Because the divers were experienced, I anchored in about 40 feet of water on the southwest side of Kettle.  It’s got boulders and a drop off and proved to be a good spot for the hunters.  The water was cold at 54 feet, according to Pete.  It was 45 there.  He obviously went deeper than I would have.

I was cold in my jeans, fleece and anorak windbreaker.  I wished I’d brought my gloves.  Veronica had bare feet in her sandals and wouldn’t wear warm socks because of the fashion outrage that would spark with the sandals.  But she had gloves.

Here’s an image I found on the Internet.  We were anchored off the lower left of the island:

Kettle Island

Kettle Island

Veronica made this dive and reported it in her blog.

The divers were ready for a second spot, so I chose the same relative orientation to the wind and the waves behind Egg Rock.  It was deep here too, but they seemed happy with the visibility and the terrain.  And the prey.

As we were motoring back to the marina, it was completely clouded over and grey.  But the wind died.

Docking was a piece of cake.

Speaking of carbs, this is one of the last crumbs in the cookie bag.  I’m licking my fingers to trap the last bit of summer sweetness.

Tags:

One Response to “Kettle and Egg”

  1. Veronica Says:

    Ah yes, a few crumbs left in the bag but at least we enjoyed those cookies all summer! 🙂

Leave a Reply

