Finally. Some Sun.

How to Measure of Lobster, using a gauge

How to Measure of Lobster, using a gauge

It was lousy diving weather for Saturday and Sunday of this three-day weekend, but today was promised to be better, almost good, actually.  So Pete, LD, The Captain and I headed out to see if everything still worked after a long hiatus.  It had been blowing from the north and northwest, so we went south to the wreck of the New Hampshire for the first dive.

It was breezy as LD set the anchor, just off the southwest corner of Graves Island.  Easy Diver faced into the wind and had her stern to the incoming tide.  The wind won.  We set the downline for ease in ear clearing and watched LD and Pete jump in.  There were several small fishing boats in the area, but they kept a wide berth between themselves and our dive flag, thank goodness.

After surfacing, Pete reported finding a lobster that was too big by an inch.  That’s an amazing sighting so early in the season.  He also saw pollack, flounder and big hermit crabs.  LD returned with a solid copper drift pin that had been peened over on the top as well as two curly nails.  Turns out Pete found a pin too.  Winter storms had churned up the bottom to expose these heavy relics.

For the second dive, I chose the rocky cliff on the west end of White Beach in Manchester. It looked to be out of the wind and less exposed in there.  Maybe I’d find something to video.

I suited up in my Atlan dry suit and a steel 70 that was not my regular tank.  Then I spent 1/2 hour struggling to get to the bottom and stay there.  I sucked down that tank like I haven’t done in a long time.  It left me winded on the swim platform as I doffed my gear to the others.  Where’s my little bomb of a tank when I need it?  Empty in the back of the truck, of course.  And I didn’t even turn on the video because I couldn’t get stable enough to shoot anything.

I saw beautiful purple growth on lots of the rocky surfaces.  There were probably nudibranchs there too but I could stay still enough to locate any.  The water was 50 degrees and visibility was about 10 feet.  There was a lot of “whale snot” in the water as well.  Everything’s spawning or blooming or releasing their eggs at this time of year.  The visibility suffers.

Getting back to the dock turned out to be easy with the help of the men on board.  I docked and did a good job of it even though there was a boat tied up at the end of our finger dock.  Onward and upward to more of the same (only better) next week.

5 Responses to “Finally. Some Sun.”

  1. Diane Neas Says:

    sounds like you had fun!!

  2. Veronica Says:

    Finally! LD is diving again!?!? HOORAY!!!!!!!!

  3. Kathy Says:

    Glad you had at least one good day! Too bad we can’t send the weather here, back there. Or the ocean back there, here. I vote the latter.

  4. Bill Says:

    Glad to here Easy Diver is back in the water, let the diving adventures begin! I took a ride up to Gloucester a few days ago and met some divers just finishing a dive at Folly Cove; visibility was around twenty feet with temperature in the mid fifties. Now the surprise: they saw a Wolf fish on the left side in the middle of the wall. Great if it will hang around for awhile. Strange how it’s this far north.

Leave a Reply

