Flirty Fish

We had old-timers LD and Jim Castelli today along with a first-timer, Alex Tsiantos.  The wind was from the west, southwest and the following sea was unruly as we crossed over the top to the inner point at Folly Cove.  We immediately saw a life jacket floating just where I wanted to anchor.  So we pulled in further to be next to the wall and out of the way of any errant lightening that was in the threatening dark skies to the east.

I was quickly into my gear and plunged before the equipment machinations began.  Alex was new enough to be swayed by the combined recommendations of The Captain, Pete, Jim and LD.  I was almost done when LD appeared with the biggest horseshoe crab either of us had ever seen.  It was as big as 1/2 a basketball.  The shell was pristine and the legs never stopped churning as he placed it on the sand.  I videoed it only by pulling myself along the sand and kicking as fast as I could.  It was effectively escaping all the while.  When I stopped, it ultimately stopped too.  Then it progressed at a more stately speed into the green distance.

The second dive was with a steel 72 and my dry suit’s weight belt, so I wore my Andros horsecollar vest to add a little air if I got deep enough to need it.  I didn’t.  I did find what the life vest was attached to, though.  It was a small mushroom anchor in a tight hole.  I guess a boater hadn’t been able to lift it and tied it off to come back later with a diver or snorkel gear.  I moved it out of its hole an placed it on a large flat boulder.  I hope the boater finds it easy to retrieve now.

LD found a very flirty black sea bass.  He said it came over to examine him several times and flared out its pectoral and dorsal fins.  Here’s a frame grab from the video he shot:

Image

The rocky point had a cloud of cunner grazing on seaweed.  They were definitely “gathering in groups.”  I got an extended shot of Alex and Jim as they swam by and then slowly surfaced.  Bubbles galore.

Then, we crossed the cove to anchor off the home where the rooster used to live.  It would crow all day and we heard it often when we were diving the cove from shore.  It’s been gone for many years.

Alex and I dived over boulders and many crevices with notches and grooves.  He seemed very comfortable with only 19 pounds of lead on his belt.

As we surfaced, I noticed that the down line had become caught in a notch, so I went back down to free it.

We agreed that the weather turned out much better than we had expected as the sun came and went behind clouds on the way in.

2 Responses to “Flirty Fish”

  1. Alex Tsiantos Says:

    Thanks guys…I had a blast…can’t wait to do it again!!

  2. Veronica Says:

    Sounded like a blast. I love going to Folly!
    It figures that LD found a monster horseshoe crab! I remember as a kid seeing TONS of them at the Rowley landing!

Leave a Reply

